Martin 4K Unboxing

In Features by Samuel Love

Those wonderful and passionate film-lovers over at Second Sight Films have just dropped their first limited edition release of 2023, and boy is it another doozy. Shot in ‘76, Martin was George A. Romero’s fifth – and personal favourite – film, and makes its debut on 4K UHD with this stunning release. Crafted with Second Sight’s usual love, this beautiful release boasts the cult classic film looking better than it ever has before, along with oodles of supplemental features and an absolutely stuffed 108 page booklet. This is another magnificent title in Second Sight’s ever-growing catalogue, and is an essential purchase for any horror fan. With releases of The Texas Chain Saw Massacre and Picnic at Hanging Rock still to come, 2023 could be Second Sight’s best year yet – and that’s saying something.


A troubled young man, who believes himself to be a vampire, goes to live with his elderly and religious cousin in a small Pennsylvania town where he tries to redeem his blood-craving urges after he falls for a lonely housewife, all the while his hostile cousin becomes convinced that the young man is actually Nosferatu.

Special Features 

  • A Second Sight Films 4K scan and restoration of a 35mm dupe negative supervised and approved by Director of Photography Michael Gornick
  • 4K UHD and Blu-ray discs both including bonus features
  • UHD presented in HDR10+
  • Audio commentary by George A Romero, John Amplas and Tom Savini
  • Audio commentary by George A Romero, Richard P Rubinstein, Tom Savini, Michael Gornick and Donald Rubinstein
  • A new audio commentary by Travis Crawford
  • A new audio commentary by Kat Ellinger
  • Taste the Blood of Martin: A new feature-length documentary including location tour
  • Scoring the Shadows: A new interview with composer Donald Rubinstein
  • J Roy – New And Used Furniture: a short film by Tony Buba
  • Making Martin: A Recounting
  • Trailers, TV and radio spots

Limited Edition Contents

  • Rigid slipcase with original classic artwork
  • 108 page book with new essays by Daniel Bird, Miranda Corcoran, Travis Crawford, Heather Drain, Kat Ellinger, Andrew Graves, Alexandra Heller-Nicholas, Elena Lazic, , Stephen Thrower, Jon Towlson, Simon Ward and Tony Williams plus rare stills and behind-the-scenes images
  • Original Soundtrack CD by Donald Rubinstein
  • 5 collectors’ art cards illustrated by Adam Stothard